This topic has 15 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 3 years, 2 months ago by SuperDroid Robot User.

• Author

Hi all,
    This is my first post and I am new to this wonderful forum
    A few years ago I bought the 4WD IG52-DB4, 4WD All Terrain Heavy Duty Robot Platform.
    It’s Configurable with onboard Arduino controller that I was able to send basic commands to it by Bluetooth.
    Problem is, to execute the next command the robot takes exactly 4 seconds, which is a very long time. e.g. when I send STOP commands then the robot stops after 4 seconds!!
    How can this solved.. your advice is appreciated.

SuperDroid
    Keymaster

Hi. If you don’t mind, we would need the order number. Is the Bluetooth something we installed? we typically do our communication at 10Hz or faster.

Hi,
    Yes it was a custom design and you provided and programmed the BT for me.
    Order# 47975, Date: 11/16/2016

SuperDroid
    Keymaster

I assume it worked to begin with since the robot is 4 years old. You will have to look at what has changed since the last time it worked. Make sure the batteries are good and fully charged. Other than that it is hard to say what the issue is without a lot more information

Yes, 4 years.. but never used it. it’s in the original shape and very clean. after testing it I put it in the same box that it came in. Just opened it a few days again (see attached). I was outside the country for most of that period.
    I suspect the timer interval but not sure. tried several values.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
     SuperDroid
    Keymaster

How are you writing and sending commands to the robot? I would suspect that the delay is due to the Bluetooth. The Arduino is communicating using Serial, meaning you could potentially bypass the Bluetooth and try communicating with it via the USB port as a test. The timer in the code is only used to detect timeouts and stop the motors as a failsafe.

Hi,